If you have just started using Photoshop, you may not know the power of different color modes present in Photoshop i.e. Bitmap, Grayscale, RGB, CMYK etc. In this tutorial, I am going to explain every mode present in Photoshop that will make your life as simple as possible especially if you are a photographer and love to print your photos.

By default, every camera captures image in RGB format as it is a universal format. You can change the image mode by going to Image>Mode>[Your Desired Mode]

Let’s start understanding one by one.

1: Bitmap

Bitmap is used when you need only White and Black color not even a slightest part of Gray is allowed. It is just 1 bit per channel so if you are using 16 or 32 bit per channel image, you need to convert an image first to 8 bit per channel This works perfect when you are dealing with a high contrast image like a text document. You can make the text appear bolder and clear once you convert the image to Bitmap mode from RGB mode.

To convert an image to Bitmap, you must convert it first to Grayscale mode. You can do it by Image>Mode>Bitmap.

Below is an example of an image in Bitmap mode with 50% threshold.

072914_1517_Explanation1 - Explanation of Different Color Modes in Photoshop

Leave a Reply

Suggest one tutorial that I MUST write.

Here Ya Go!
Give it a try at least.